Status: TAG Clan no longer officially supports GW2. See our other games instead.


All Games /

Guild Wars 2

Guild Wars 2 is a massively multiplayer online role-playing game (MMORPG) featuring five races and eight character classes to play as. It breaks the mold of traditional MMORPG format by featuring dynamic events, randomly occurring objectives you complete in for karma, experience, and in-game currency. The game has a level cap of 80.

The in-game world of Tyria is under threat by the ancient Elder Dragons, and you must re-unite the Destiny's Edge and all races to utterly destroy them. It may be a bit barebones, but it gets the job done. And who doesn't love killing huge dragons that create massive battles?

Combat Mechanics

Guild Wars 2 has some very innovative combat features. Classes are not restricted to a predetermined set of skills. Their 1 - 5 skills are determined by the type of weapon they use, so many builds are possible. The 6 - 0 skills are elective to the player. They are allowed to choose from any of the vast amount of skills available to each class. The 0 skill is a class' elite skill, which is unlocked at Level 30. This skill typically has a long cooldown, but is quite influential to winning battles. Most skills inflict conditions on enemies, like bleed, poison, and confusion.

Game Modes

Guild Wars 2 features the typical MMO overworld PvE play, and also has a structured PvP mode. In sPvP, players are matchmade together and play a sort of Deathmatch/CTF hybrid. GW2 also has the extremely innovative World vs World mode, where three different servers are pitted against each other. Thousands of players crowd the battlegrounds, eager to spill the blood of others. Dominating in WvW mode also provides various bonuses to your home server, benefiting all who play on it.

Creating Your Character

During character creation, you choose your race from five races: Human, Sylvari, Asura, Charr, and Norn. Humans are your stereotypical RPG human, and their capital is Divinity's Reach. They are currently in peace negotiations with the Charr, due to the ancient hatred between the two races. Sylvari are most simply explained as "plant people." They are a race of bipedal, human-like creatures that share land with the Asura. Their capital city is known as "The Grove." The Asura are a race of two-foot tall elf-like creatures, and are incredibly intelligent. They look down on the other races, especially the Sylvari. The Asurans created the gateway travel system, a quick way for everyone to move between cities and transport goods. They live in the cube city of Rata Sum. The Charr are a race of bipedal felines, who created the majority of technology in the Guild Wars lore. Their lives revolve around war, and their hierarchy and government is completely militant. Charr are not religious and shun worship. They see gods as something to kill, a challenge to overcome. Their capital is the Black Citadel. The Norn are the nordic warriors and hunters. They are nine feet tall and possess great strength. They possess various types of lycanthropy, like changing into wolves, bears, ravens, and snow leopards. These four animals represent the Norn Spirits of the Wild. Their capital is Hoelbrak.

Next in character creation is choosing your profession, or character class, from the available eight. Your choices are as follows: Warrior, Guardian, Thief, Engineer, Ranger, Necromancer, Mesmer, and Elementalist. A quick description of all classes is available below.

Soldier Professions

Warrior: A heavy armored fighter, relying on brute strength to crush his foes. They use things like swords, axes, maces, greatswords and rifles. They are unparalled in sheer destruction.

Guardian: A more defensive Warrior. They wear heavy armor, and cast various spells to provide excellent protection to themselves and their teams. Their weapons entail scepters, greatswords, hammers, axes and shields.

Adventurer Professions

Thief: A speedy critical hitting master. An adventurer profession, they wear medium armor. They are able to turn themselves and teammates invisible, an invaluable tactic in PvP. They use daggers, shortbows, and pistols.

Engineer: The technological force on the battlefield. They create assortments of turrets that heal, shoot rockets, and generally assist you in annihilating your enemies. They wear medium armor. They use rifles, pistols, and shields. They also have kits that change your 1 - 5 skills, like a flamethrower, elixir gun, or grenade kit.

Ranger: The ranged destruction, with a side of assorted animals. The ranger is the only class that has a pet that assists it in battle. There are quite a few pets to choose from. Rangers use longbows, daggers, greatswords, torches, swords, and axes.

Scholar Professions

Necromancer: The death fueled force of annihilation. Necromancers possess the ability to enter death shroud, a mode where the Necromancer gains powerful abilities, and as long as death occurs around the Necromancer, death will continue to happen. The necromancer uses staves, wands, and off-hand focuses. The Necromancer also has the ability to summon undead minions to wreak havoc on the battlefield. The Necro wears light armor.

Mesmer: The Mesmer utilizes illusions to evoke pure insanity in their enemies. They can clone themselves, weave magical storms, and shatter their creations to inflict death on their enemies. They psychotically toy with the fools who dare to mess with them. Mesmers wear light armor. Their weapons are greatswords, staves, wands, and other one handed blunt or blade armaments.

Elementalist: The archetypical elemental mage. They can shift between four attunements: Fire, Air, Earth, and Water. You can create your own avatar with this class! Elementalists use staves, daggers, wands, focuses, and wear light armor.

After you have chosen your class, the game let's you choose your background, which shapes your personal story, another great element of this MMO. Everyone who plays this game should specialize in the crafting professions as well. There are eight crafting professions, and each character can have two at a time; you are able to swap professions at any time though. All professions have a level cap of 400.

Armorsmith: This is used to create heavy armor with various metals. Useful for soldier classes.

Artificer: Create staves, focuses, and wands. Useful for scholar classes.

Chef: Cook assorted food. There are a ton of recipes, and all food gives very useful buffs. Useful for all classes.

Huntsman: Create ranged weapons like pistols, rifles, and bows. Useful for thief, engineer, and ranger.

Jeweler: Make jewelry, which is socketed into equipment for useful stat buffs. Useful for all classes.

Leatherworker: Use leather to create medium armor. Useful for adventurers.

Tailor: Use jute, wool, and linen to create light armor. Useful for scholars.

Weaponsmith: Create melee armaments like greatswords, axes, maces, and other assorted weaponry. Useful for any melee class.

System Requirements



OS: Windows XP SP 2 or better

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0 GHz, Core i3, AMD Athlon 64 X2, or better

Memory: 2 GB RAM

Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce 7800, ATI X1800, Intel HD 3000, or better (256 MB of video RAM and shader model 3.0 or better)

Hard Drive: 25 GB available space or more

Mac (beta)


OS: Mac OSX 10.7.X or later

CPU: Intel Core i5 or better

Memory: 4 GB RAM or more

Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce 320M, ATI Radeon HD 6630M, Intel HD 3000 or better

Hard Drive: 25 GB available space

Copyright © 2008 - 2023 TAG Clan. Contact Privacy Terms of Use